If Dee's Walls Could Talk

If Dee's walls could talk, I would move out immediately, but you'd want to move in! I have an opinion, and I'm not afraid to use it! Be sure to view older posts if you haven't stopped by in a while!

Motherlovin’

mother

 

 

 

 

 

 

Motherlovin’

Some of you know that I’ve been job hunting for a little while now.  Some of you don’t.  Well, I have been, but admittedly my heart isn’t in it.  None of the jobs excite me, but I needs ta work.

I received an email from an employer that had viewed my LinkedIn profile.  I thought it was a fake, so I ignored it.  There was a follow up email the next day with much more information.  I googled it, and finally called the lady back.  The job sounded good.  The phone interview went well.  She asked if I could interview in the next couple hours.  I could.

I was early to the interview, and a receptionist directed me to Interview Lady’s office.  The interview went well.  She was all smiles.  I had my best interview game face on.  She gave me the customary, “we’ll call you soon to set up a second interview if we’re interested” spiel.  We shook hands, and I left.  I went to the restroom first, just to look at myself in the mirror.  I just felt weird.  Not excited or horrified about the interview, just blah.  I left the restroom, and headed to my car.  Interview Lady was parked next to me.  We drove the same car.  We had the same front plate, just in different colors.  Even our coats were similar.  My next thought was Single White Female.  Her next thought was to invite me to lunch her treat.  Cha-ching.

I am young enough to be her daughter.

As we were munching on some chips and salsa, she asked about my life. She probed into the deepest parts of my heart with a few simple, mundane questions.  I’m a bucket with a leak in it. She listened intently…as if I was the most important person in the world to her. And during that lunch hour, I think I was. With each experience I shared, she would shake her head in awe at how God has already worked miracles in my life. And when my eyes would well up with tears, so would hers.

What’s weird about all of this is the fact that I was fussing at God recently.  Gasp.  Right?!  I wondered how come he took my family away.  I used to pray to God to fix my mother and I’s relationship, and he in turn renders her with dementia.  How are we going to fix things now, I used to wonder?  I’ve since made peace with it and understand that this incident taught me to forgive ANYTHING.  However, I still needs me a mother figure.  I’ve got questions and concerns reserved for a mama!  I used to keep everything – worry, fear, issues – to myself, but that didn’t work at all.  Just made things worse.  I now see that EVERYTHING has a season or a test.  Something to be learned or someone to help you over the hump.

I would see everything that I didn’t have in life instead of the things, people that I did have.  How dare I?  There are times, in our relationships with our families, lovers, friends, co-workers…that we must carry their burdens.  It is our duty.  We are not supposed to do things alone.  I’m convinced that God allowed others to take on my burdens for a season. Paul writes in Galatians 6:2 “Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”

And did they ever.

I had friends who listened to my gripes.  A man who told me I was still beautiful and wonderful during the hard times.  A mother who, though different than before, grew healthier and stronger in my care.  I was listening to it all, but my reactions didn’t necessarily show it.  I felt broken.

As we were finishing our lunch together, Interview Lady told me about the infidelity in her marriage and its devastation.  The end is that they’re still together, happier than before. Weirdest lunch ever, right?

She told me that I had the job if I wanted it.  I said, I don’t.  She said she knew it. We laughed.  I needed some Motherlovin’.  I got it.  We exchanged cards.

Whatever it is that you desire to see happen, don’t give up. The Bible promises: “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”  Galatians 6:9 (NIV)  And trust me when I say that the reward will be so much sweeter when you wait instead of settling for second best. It might be easier to give up on mending a relationship, or staying in a dead-end job, or resigning your prayers for a loved one, or choosing a mate just to alleviate your loneliness. Those are temporary remedies to problems that will still be there the next day.  Know that He gives you tools to complete a test, you just have to open you heart, or eyes, or mouth.

Thank you to everyone who has ever made my burdens a bit lighter.  I am ever so thankful.

5 comments on “Motherlovin’

  1. Chris McGinest
    February 27, 2013

    DP!!!! Good Morning. I’m really feeling your blog lil lady! I like your writing style. When my brother passed it was an outpouring of love and support at first and then the pain hit. Still tears me up after 6 years and you just don’t know how stuff like that affects you. A lot of people don’t understand or can’t put that consistency in with you when you’re not acting like yourself. I thank you for always checking up on around that time and even after. Means a lot.

  2. Tee Wood
    February 27, 2013

    Wooooooooooooooow! Like really, wow! I’m so proud that you’ve kept up with your writing. I know it was one of your goals this year. I love to read it. I can always picture and or feel it!

    I’m always going to be there for you, and girl I’m so freaking proud of you. Love you much!

  3. George Cuffee
    February 27, 2013

    Tant shared your blog on FB! Sorry it took me so long to check it out. Looks like i’ve got a lot to catch up on. Write on, Dr. Perry! Everyone handles grief in their own ways. It’s not weird. I used women to fill my void at one point. My uncle pulled me aside and had a man to man after all that acting out when pops died. Thought I was handling it. Like your work so far little DP!

  4. Crystal Scott
    February 28, 2013

    Deoooooooooooooooooona! I love this!

  5. Nelson Rucker
    March 3, 2013

    Awesome…Thanks for sharing!!!! God always know what we need. Your story is encouragement for me

So, What Did You Think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2013 by in faith, God, Interview, mother and tagged , , , , .
