If Dee's Walls Could Talk

If Dee's walls could talk, I would move out immediately, but you'd want to move in! I have an opinion, and I'm not afraid to use it! Be sure to view older posts if you haven't stopped by in a while!

Pinch Me, Please! My Inauguration Experience.

wonka“Each time we gather to inaugurate a president, we bear witness to the enduring strength of our Constitution.  We affirm the promise of our democracy.  We recall that what binds this nation together is not the colors of our skin or the tenets of our faith or the origins of our names.  What makes us exceptional – what makes us American – is our allegiance to an idea, articulated in a declaration made more than two centuries ago…” – President Barack Hussein Obama, Inauguration Speech 2013

What a wonderful weekend to be American. And Black. And a woman.  My inauguration experience left me reeling.  I felt excited, amazed, spell-bound, galvanized, and cold. Definitely, cold.  Mostly, I just felt lucky.

I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to attend the 2013 Inauguration of President Barack Obama.  Luckily, my former boss offered to fly me out last minute to attend the event because of an unused ticket she had.  Woohoo!  While checking into our hotel, I was spotted by former college alums who were working different events of the Inauguration.  My itinerary was instantly UPGRADED!  I felt as if I held the Golden Ticket to the Chocolate Factory.

With my boss and her friends and family, we shopped and ate, and ate and shopped.  Well, they shopped, and I admired.  While they headed to another mall, I met up with my college buddies at Dubliner’s Restaurant and Pub. It was freaking crowded.  It’s an Irish Pub on Capitol Hill near the Senate, and it’s known for its awesome beers and burgers.  I had neither, because of the crowd really, but mostly because of the arrival of Colin Powell and Tom Brokaw.  I was like a kid in the candy store.  Colin Powell, with his republican self, is so cool to me.   He was Secretary of State, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, National Security Advisor, and in most of his positions he was the first Black person to do so.  I’m such a sapiosexual. Tom Brokaw’s really cool, too.  Moving along to the Inauguration…

While waiting for the Inauguration to start, we were entertained with multiple performances:  elementary, junior high, and college choirs, a band made up of varying military officers, children dancing…While the children were dancing, Steve Harvey and his wife arrived and caused everyone around me to begin snapping pictures and cheering.  Listening to my crowd mates was extremely entertaining as well.  Senate and Congress members were introduced before former Presidents, and the lady to my right kept tapping me on the shoulder to express her displeasure over this matter.  When Beyoncé emerged, she again whispered to me that “her weave is on point!”  Finally, our POTUS took his oath of office.  He stood there, distinguished, surrounded by his supporting cast, and you could feel the magic.  I beamed. Ms. Tapper next to me hushed, and beamed as well.  We all stood mesmerized.  That was short lived, because we jumped in a CNN van and headed to Statuary Hall where the post-inaugural luncheon was held.

I did not attend the luncheon, of course, but I was able to walk around while the finishing touches were added.  I snuck a peak as Congress members arrived, but we were ushered to a particular location for press members and could not move out of that spot.  I saw many people as they left, including our President and First Lady! Awesome.  I was even stared at weirdly by a California Senator. Ha. 1358661288 (8) 1358661288 (9) 1358661288 (10) 1358661288 (12) 1358661288 (13) 1358661288 (14) 1358661288 (15) 1358661288 (16) 1358661288 (17) 1358661288 (18) 1358661288 (19) 1358661288 (20)

The parade was later in the day, and I was cold and exhausted by this time.  My uncle invited me to be his date at the Commander in Chief’s Ball, so the parade experience was cut short.  Headed to the hotel, I passed by Rachel Maddow to my left, and Al Roker to my right.

The Commander and Chief’s Ball with Unk was nice.  Weird hanging with my Uncle after all of this time, but the event was great.  Servicemen and their dates were thanked by the POTUS before he headed to his official Inaugural Ball.

I know that I didn’t do this Inauguration post justice, but the memories and feelings cannot be summed up into mere words.  It was an exhilarating time in history, and I’m glad I was a part of it. 1358814933 1358817350

So, What Did You Think?

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
